The Grand Tour, Top Gear and cars on TV and me

This month marks an important TV date for petrol heads; the grand tour is coming to Amazon. For those of you who have escaped the news the last couple of years, Top gears old trio of Clarkson Hammond and May have moved to Amazon. The trailer and internet clips that have emerged have shown the same humour and Banter that was so good with them on Top Gear. Whilst the leaving of Top Gear wasn’t the best of circumstances what it has done is open up further opportunities for the trio to re brand

top-gear-logo
The familiar logo from Sunday evenings and repeats on Dave

and reform on the back of Top Gear’s success.

The grand tour gives the boys a good chance to make us laugh and enjoy motoring on the screen with them once again. While there is limited doubt that the show will be a success it did leave the BBC and Top Gear in a position of awkwardness. How do you take a show with Top Gears success forward when it loses its presenters? You have to also bear in mind that Top gear comes from humble and small beginnings rather than the global phenomena that it has become. It was once an additional section on regional television.

Whilst the BBC has launched Top Gear it received mixed reviews and with Chris Evans leaving after the first series it could be a shaky programme for a while. To their credit the new series of Top Gear earlier this year was a good starting point. The additional programme of extra gear online gave petrol heads the chance to flex their muscles and enjoy car details in a slight nerd fest of numbers with Chris Harris and Rory Reid. Top Gears rebranding may not be an overnight success but it has to be given the chance to flex and go.

For a lot of millennials like myself, Top Gear was what introduced us to cars and petrol heads. The reviews of cars became playground debate. Watching three blokes fooling around with cars was one of the highlights of the week. When Dave (TV channel) came around with repeats of the older episodes it was a real excitement because you could have a constant day of cars on your screen. The thing I found was that it fuelled my interest further in cars. It wasn’t a case of being picked up in a car as a teenager it was ooh I wonder what car they have. It is a mind-set I haven’t got out of if I am honest. The other thing that came from watching Top Gear was buying car magazines; I had a system with this; normally one would be focused on new cars and car news. Secondly I’d buy the regional auto trader and trawl though the   classified looking for cars that I’d want either for a cheap car challenge or just because I liked them. I know I was a weird teenager.

Overall millennial people like me owe Top Gear a lot and the same to that trio that got us into cars. Without them I don’t think my love of cars would be the same.  While I don’t doubt I’d still like them it wouldn’t be the same. Having said that other car programmes have also imprinted upon my life. Programmes such as Wheeler dealers, this one was great because I had worked in a car body workshop and in a car dealership as a teenager so I had some knowledge of what they were talking about and understood what was going on. Furthermore it opened me up to further classics and how to do work on them.  Ok so if you asked me what my mechanical level of understanding is I would have to admit to being very amateur based. TV it seems has had a large effect on me as a petrol head, along with others. Whereas now I am more tuned into Car throttle and online coverage as well it’s not easy to forget the television roots of petrol headedness and the impact it made upon me.

 

Leave a Reply

